Musical Rut

Your general non-gaming entertainment thread.
Monde Luna
Blue Dragon Ninja
jedwabna poszewka na poduszkę 70x80

Musical Rut

Post by Monde Luna »

For the musicians on L-net how do you get out of your recording ruts? I'm a performing musician and all things are well in that aspect. However when I record something I always end up deleting it because it doesn't sound good enough. But perfection is hard to come by... I always find something that I don't like in my recordings, but I even find flaws in professional recordings that drive me nuts... ack what do you guys do?

Ardent Fox
Blue Dragon Ninja

Re: Musical Rut

Post by Ardent Fox »

Stop recording and take a holiday. When I was with my old band, we would record but if we didn't like it and couldn't get it right then we'd just stop. Once you lay that first take, if you need to do it more and more times then you seem to lose a certain something. It sucks but when you get stuck like that, it's best to walk away.

Monde Luna
Blue Dragon Ninja

Post by Monde Luna »

I probably should have stated I am mostly a classical musician. I've been playing some of the same songs for years actually its like fine wine it gets better w/ time. But I get bored so I've just been messing around with some video game music and chamber music lately. That is what I have been recording/deleting.

Ardent Fox
Blue Dragon Ninja

Post by Ardent Fox »

Well, treading around in unfamiliar territory can do that too. You know what is aurally pleasing to you. So when you actually play it, it just doesn't sound right because it's not what you're used to doing. I'm guessing that might be it. But still, as a rule, I've always found it best to get some fresh air and come back and record the next day or week after a bad day in a studio.

Monde Luna
Blue Dragon Ninja

Post by Monde Luna »

You are right I should probably just take it easy for a couple of days and then return. My ear probably just needs to relax for a few.

exigence